Browse by Charity

Browse by Genre


ISBN: 9780330482202


Retail Price £7.99
You Save £4.24 (53%)
Our Price £3.75

Sell this Book
Add to Wish List

Dry Bones That Dream

Series: 7 The Inspector Banks Series

by Peter Robinson

Category: Crime, Mystery & Thrillers / Crime & Mysteries
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication date: 4 May 2001
Number of pages: 384

Interest Age: 18

It was 2.47am when Chief Inspector Alan Banks arrived at the barn and saw the body of Keith Rothwell for the first time. Only hours earlier two masked men had walked the mild-mannered accountant out of his farmhouse and clinically blasted him with a shotgun. Clearly this is a professional hit -- but Keith was hardly the sort of person to make deadly enemies. Or was he? For the police investigation soon raises more questions than answers. And who, exactly, is Robert Calvert? The more Banks scratches the surface, the more he wonders what lies beneath the veneer of the apparently happy Rothwell family. And when his old sparring partner Detective Superintendent Richard Burgess arrives from Scotland Yard, the case takes yet another unexpected twist...'The novels of Peter Robinson are chilling, evocative, deeply nuanced works of art.' Dennis Lehane 'Peter Robinson's cast of characters is vividly drawn. Well written...highly entertaining.' Scotland on Sunday

Mild-mannered accountant Keith Rothwell has had his head blown off with a shotgun as he knelt in his barn. His wife and daughter know only that two masked men tied them up before marching him out of the farmhouse. Chief Inspector Banks has seen professional hits before, but when his old sparring partner Detective Superintendent Richard Burgess descends from Scotland Yard, it soon becomes clear that some very major players have an interest in the police investigation and that this is not the only life which Rothwell has left behind. This is the seventh of the popular and widely acclaimed Inspector Banks series of novels by Peter Robinson, who has been shortlisted twice for the Edgar Allan Poe Award and won numerous awards in the USA, Britain and Canada. The reason for this success, as with all long-running mystery series, is that readers like the detective, that all the characters are vivid and true to life, and that the mystery itself is well plotted with many layers of red herrings. This book fulfils all these expectations: there are mistresses, missing former colleagues, international connections, dysfunctional family members with grudges to bear, and so on. But at the heart of it all is Alan Banks, a man approaching middle age whose experience of life has honed his intuition without leaving his attitude too sharp for comfort. There's no great flaw to his character and although he does have his own personal battles, they are such that readers of all ages can empathize with him. He's the perfect focus for an excellent series. (Kirkus UK)

Author's Biography:
Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire but now spends most of his time in Canada. He is the winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain and Canada.

In Stock: 7 copies

This book is not currently in stock, however you can add it to your Wish List.
An email will then automatically be sent once the book becomes available.